September & October Wrap Up

So….I didn’t realize how many books I read in September. I did REALLY REALLY well these last 2 months, and to be quite honest, I’ve read more these last 2 months than I have all year.

My motivation was helped by the amount of ARCs I received, so I had a deadline to meet if I wanted to post my review before the release date.

AND, not only that, but I met my goodreads challenge for the year!! I aimed low for 2017, because 2016 was a slow reading year for me. I only read 30 books in 2016 when my goal was 50. So I aimed for 31 books for 2017, and I made it!

I’m not going to stop reading though! I want to see how many total I can read this year, so hopefully I can make my goal of 50 books for 2018. I have a feeling next year is THE YEAR for YA! (Stay tuned for a post about my most anticipated 2018 releases!!)


In the month of September, I read 9 books!! Below are my ratings for each books as well as a link to the review (if applicable) in order of reading.

  • Tower of Dawn by Sarah J Maas – 5 Stars
  • If There’s No Tomorrow by Jennifer Armentrout – 5 Stars
  • Royals Series by Erin Watt- 3 Stars
  • Nyxia- 3 Stars
  • Reign of the Fallen – 5 Stars.

My September favorite was Reign of the Fallen (I will never stop hyping up this book, I seriously CANT EVEN express how much I ADORED this book).

Tower of Dawn came second. I am not a Chaol fan but SJM has an uncanny ability to make me like characters that I don’t like. But the book was very good and certainly surprised me.

And while I gave the Royal Series 3 Stars, I really see myself getting super into them and rereading them in the future. The books are super trashy and soap-opera-y but I can’t help it, they’re my guilty pleasure.

For the month of October, so far:

  • The Nowhere Girls – 5 Stars
  • Anna & the French Kiss – 5 Stars
  • The Tower – 4 Stars
  • Daughter of the Pirate King- 4 Stars
  • Daughter of the Siren Queen – 4 Stars
  • Inkmistress- 3 Stars (review coming soon)

My favorite read in October was Anna and the French Kiss because I am a total sucker for cheese romances and I really enjoyed it! I can’t wait to pick up the other two books!!

My second favorite was The Nowhere Girls by Amy Reed. The story was so empowering and amazing, and I really really enjoyed reading about girls uplifting girls, fat girl representation, POC &LGBTQ representation. SO MANY GOOD FEELINGS!!

My current reads (yes, plural because I like to start multiple books at once) are:

  • The Belles by Dhonielle Clayton (February 2018)
  • The Last Magician
  • The Hate U Give
  • Six of Crows

I am really really looking forward to November, I have so many exciting things coming up, one of them being the Texas Book Festival, and I hope I’m able to make it this year. Some favorite authors I’m trying to meet are Angie Thomas, Nic Stone, Maggie Stiefvater, and Lemony Snicket!

I have a feeling this will be a great month!

Leave a comment